Q is for Quixotic

Quixotic:

1: foolishly impractical especially in the pursuit of ideals; marked by rash lofty romantic ideas or extravagantly chivalrous action
2: capricious, unpredictable
Etymology:
From English: Quixote, a visionary, after Don Quixote, hero of a romance by Miguel de Cervantes

I love that such a colorful adjective was spawned by a fictional character!

Everyone should “tilt at windmills” and engage in some sort of Quixotic behavior at some point in their life.

13 thoughts on “Q is for Quixotic

  1. Stephanie says:

    I’ve never read that book! So many classics, so little time…

  2. Sarah Allan says:

    Ooh, thank you for a new word! I learned something new today.

  3. One of my favorite movies of all times is “The Fisher King” and Parry is quite quixotic.

  4. Lovely word and lovely idea that we should all be a little capricious every now and then. There are lots of images of Don Quixote around my way (S. Spain). I will think of this post now when I see them 🙂

  5. Dana says:

    I agree. (And I just like to say the word!)

  6. A great word.

    “Everyone should “tilt at windmills” and engage in some sort of Quixotic behavior at some point in their life.”

    I’ll do my best!

  7. jocelynrish says:

    I’ve always loved that word, although I have to admit that I’m not often very quixotic. I know, my new quixotic goal will be to write a character so awesome that she spawns her own word!

    Wishing you continued success with the A to Z challenge,
    Jocelyn

Leave a Reply

