To Headbang or Not to Headbang

That is the ITP question.

September marks ITP Awareness Month, and today, September 28, is Sport Purple for Platelets Day.

Jonathan Davis Korn

Think this guy will be sporting purple today?

In my research into the subject of this bizarre roller coaster of a disease, I recently learned that Jonathan Davis from the band Korn had a bout with ITP during his 2006 European Tour, landing in the hospital with a platelet count of 5K. To quote Davis: “If I continued to headbang on stage I could have had a brain hemorrhage and dropped dead on the spot. This has been one of the scariest times in my life.”
I know how he feels. In 2005, I was 4th row center at a Judas Priest concert. Rob Halford had just re-joined the band after being away for over a decade; how could I not be there front and center to cheer, yell and headbang? I remember trying to lift my arms to fist pump, and I couldn’t. I just wanted to curl up on my chair and go to sleep.

I wound up in the hospital the next day with my first platelet crash since my ITP diagnosis the month before. I was at 12K. If the show had been general admission, if I had been, as Anthrax would say, “caught in a mosh”, that could have been the end of me. It was scary indeed.

Our stories are just 2 of the stories out there representing the 200,000 Americans suffering from ITP. Many have chosen to share their stories on the PDSA Personal Stories web page. Yesterday I posted a story about running a 5K mud race with a platelet count of 39K on my new site that some of my followers may not have found yet. It was another exhilarating dip on my roller coaster of ITP and I hope you will take a peek at it, as well as sport PURPLE today! Thanks.

2 thoughts on “To Headbang or Not to Headbang

  1. Meg says:

    Im going to wear Purple too. It will be my first time.

    • jesstopper says:

      Hi Meg, thanks for visiting – I don’t blog here very much, as I have moved over to http://www.jesstopper.com Wishing you success in managing your ITP, I’ve visited your site, looks great! I’m still trying to get used to the ITP roller coaster ride after living with it for 13 years. It’s great to have a support group and a month to bring awareness.

Leave a Reply

